Catalog

Our standard hold limit is back! You can now place up to 20 holds.

Record Details

Catalog Search


9781476753409

More than happy : the wisdom of Amish parenting (for the non-Amish)

Image of item
In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, an in-depth look at the practices and principles of Amish parents and how they raise children who are self-sufficient, hard-working, and remarkably happy. The more time Serena Miller spent in Holmes County, Ohio, doing research for her popular Amish novels, the more she began to notice something—Amish children were the happiest children she’d ever seen. Despite not having modern toys and conveniences, they are joyful, serene, calm, and respectful—not to mention whipping up full meals and driving buggies before most of us will allow our children to walk to school alone. And yet, when she started asking questions about what these parents were doing differently, she was startled to learn that happiness is not a goal Amish strive for at all. In More Than Happy Miller uncovers many surprising insights, including the significance of real responsibilities, the wisdom of unplugging from technology, the value of unstructured time to play, the importance of firm rules, and the importance of each teenager’s freedom to decide what is best for their future. Full of practical takeaways, More Than Happy shows you how to apply the basic principles and parenting techniques the Amish use, so you can raise happy, well-adjusted kids.

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at OWWL.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Gorham Free Library 649 MILLER (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52119300105173
Available
-
Livonia Public Library 649.109 MIL (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52140300438919
Available
-
LDR 02397nam a2200337 i 4500
001504694
003OWWL
00520150225000000.0
008140819s2015 nyu er 000 0 eng d
010 . ‡a2014021041
020 . ‡a9781476753409 ‡q(hardcover) : ‡c$24.00
020 . ‡a1476753407 ‡q(hardcover) : ‡c$24.00
035 . ‡a(SKY)sky265507334
040 . ‡dsc ‡dis ‡dSKYRV ‡erda
043 . ‡an-us---
049 . ‡aXDR
050 4. ‡aHQ769 ‡b.M5344 2015
08200. ‡a649/.10973 ‡223
092 . ‡a649/.10973
1001 . ‡aMiller, Serena, ‡d1950- ‡eauthor.
24510. ‡aMore than happy : ‡bthe wisdom of Amish parenting (for the non-Amish) / ‡cSerena B. Miller with Paul Stutzman.
264 1. ‡aNew York : ‡bHoward Books, ‡c2015.
264 4. ‡c©2015
300 . ‡aviii, 326 pages ; ‡c24 cm.
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
520 . ‡aIn the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, an in-depth look at the practices and principles of Amish parents and how they raise children who are self-sufficient, hard-working, and remarkably happy. The more time Serena Miller spent in Holmes County, Ohio, doing research for her popular Amish novels, the more she began to notice something—Amish children were the happiest children she’d ever seen. Despite not having modern toys and conveniences, they are joyful, serene, calm, and respectful—not to mention whipping up full meals and driving buggies before most of us will allow our children to walk to school alone. And yet, when she started asking questions about what these parents were doing differently, she was startled to learn that happiness is not a goal Amish strive for at all. In More Than Happy Miller uncovers many surprising insights, including the significance of real responsibilities, the wisdom of unplugging from technology, the value of unstructured time to play, the importance of firm rules, and the importance of each teenager’s freedom to decide what is best for their future. Full of practical takeaways, More Than Happy shows you how to apply the basic principles and parenting techniques the Amish use, so you can raise happy, well-adjusted kids.
650 0. ‡aChild rearing ‡zUnited States ‡vCase studies.
650 0. ‡aParenting ‡zUnited States ‡vCase studies.
650 0. ‡aAmish children ‡zUnited States ‡vCase studies.
7001 . ‡aStutzman, Paul.
901 . ‡asky265507334 ‡bSKY ‡c504694 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc

Additional Resources