Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the North Pond hermit

Image of item
Book

First edition.

"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.

Available copies

  • 24 of 24 copies available at OWWL.

Current holds

1 current hold with 24 total copies.

View other formats and editions

Book 1 E-book 1 E-audio 1 CD Audiobook 1 Large Print Book 1 English 5 All formats and editions 5
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Avon Free Library 974.12 FIN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52113300437827
Available
-
Bloomfield Public Library 974.1 Finkel (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52133300106016
Available
-
Bristol Library 974.12 FIN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52134300034760
Available
-
Caledonia Library Association 974.12 FIN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52135300283935
Available
-
Clifton Springs Library 974.122 Fin (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52115300319400
Available
-
Dansville Public Library 974.12 FIN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52117300452181
Available
-
Geneva Public Library 974.122 FIN (Text)
Second Floor Nonfiction
52118300787451
Available
-
Gorham Free Library B KNIGHT (Text)
Adult Biography
52119300155806
Available
-
Honeoye Public Library 974.12 (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52120300323923
Available
-
Lyons Public Library B KNIGHT (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52141300468492
Available
-
Next 10 »
LDR 02776nam a22004218i 4500
001553250
003OWWL
00520180301153048.0
008160713s2017 nyu 000 0beng
010 . ‡a2016029910
020 . ‡a9781101875681
020 . ‡a1101875682
020 . ‡a9781101911532
020 . ‡a1101911530
035 . ‡a(SKY)sky283211017
040 . ‡aDLC ‡beng ‡erda ‡cDLC ‡dSKYRV
042 . ‡apcc
043 . ‡an-us-me
049 . ‡aXDR
05000. ‡aCT9991.K65 ‡bF56 2017
08200. ‡a974.1/22043092 ‡aB ‡223
092 . ‡a974.1/22043092 ‡aB
1001 . ‡aFinkel, Michael, ‡eauthor.
24514. ‡aThe stranger in the woods : ‡bthe extraordinary story of the North Pond hermit / ‡cby Michael Finkel.
250 . ‡aFirst edition.
264 1. ‡aNew York : ‡bAlfred A. Knopf, ‡c2017.
300 . ‡a203 pages : ‡billustrations ; ‡c22 cm.
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
500 . ‡a"This is a Borzoi book"--Title page verso.
5202 . ‡a"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.
60010. ‡aKnight, Christopher Thomas, ‡d1965-
650 0. ‡aHermits ‡zMaine ‡zSmithfield Region ‡vBiography.
650 0. ‡aRecluses ‡zMaine ‡zSmithfield Region ‡vBiography.
650 0. ‡aThieves ‡zMaine ‡zSmithfield Region ‡vBiography.
650 0. ‡aSurvival ‡vCase studies.
650 0. ‡aSolitude ‡vCase studies.
651 0. ‡aSmithfield Region (Me.) ‡vBiography.
655 7. ‡aBiographies. ‡2lcgft
77608. ‡iOnline version: ‡aFinkel, Michael, author. ‡tStranger in the woods ‡bFirst edition. ‡dNew York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2017 ‡z9781101875698 ‡w(DLC) 2016037679
905 . ‡ukriedener
901 . ‡asky283211017 ‡bSKY ‡c553250 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc

Additional Resources