Catalog

Due to COVID-19 the ability to place holds has been disabled. In addition, due dates have been extended and fines will not accrue during this time. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Before we were yours : a novel

Image of item
Book

First Edition.

"Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--
"Memphis, Tennessee, 1936. The five Foss children find their lives changed forever when their parents leave them alone on the family shantyboat one stormy night. Rill Foss, just twelve years old, must protect her four younger siblings as they are wrenched from their home on the Mississippi and thrown into the care of the infamous Georgia Tann, director of the Tennessee Children's Home Society. South Carolina, Present Day. Avery Stafford has lived a charmed life. Loving daughter to her father, a U.S. Senator, she has a promising career as an assistant D.A. in Baltimore and is engaged to her best friend. But when Avery comes home to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with a stranger leaves her deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about the woman's life will take her on a journey through her family's long-hidden history"--

Available copies

  • 12 of 44 copies available at OWWL.

Current holds

5 current holds with 44 total copies.

View other formats and editions

Book 1 E-book 1 E-audio 1 CD Audiobook 1 Large Print Book 1 English 5 All formats and editions 5
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Clyde-Savannah Public Library FIC Wingate (Text)
Adult Fiction
52116300723237
Available
-
Cordelia A. Greene Library - Castile FIC WINGATE (Text)
Adult Fiction
52136000219989
Checked out
06/30/2020
Dansville Public Library FIC WIN (Text)
Adult Fiction
52117300498671
Available
-
Eagle Free Library - Bliss FIC WIN (Text)
Adult Fiction
52137300136055
Checked out
06/30/2020
Gainesville Public Library - Silver Springs Fic Win (Text)
Adult Fiction
52138300224412
In transit
-
Geneva Public Library WINGATE (Text)
First Floor Fiction
52118300962807
Checked out
06/30/2020
Gorham Free Library FIC WINGATE (Text)
Adult Fiction
52119300167322
Checked out
06/30/2020
Honeoye Public Library FIC (Text)
New Adult Fiction
52120300375030
In transit
-
Lima Public Library FIC WIN (Text)
Adult Fiction
32139000989259
Available
-
Livonia Public Library FIC WIN (Text)
Adult Fiction
52140300536019
Available
-
« Previous 10 Next 10 »

Additional Resources