Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Healing children : a surgeon's stories from the frontiers of pediatric medicine

Image of item
Book
"A groundbreaking medical memoir by one of our nation's leading pediatric surgeons--the visionary head of Children's National. "If you did nothing but read the astounding, miraculous and occasionally crushing stories that Dr. Newman so vividly relates about daily life in a pediatric hospital you would be enthralled byHealing Children. But there is a bigger truth to this book, a more compelling reason to read it. And that is to be brought fact to face with the many ways that we don't prioritize children's health. An amazing look at the tenacity and courage of kids and doctors under difficult circumstances."- Madeline Levine, author of The Price of Privilege Anyone who has seen a child recover from a wound or a broken bone knows that kids are made to heal. Their bodies are more resilient, more adaptive, and far more able to withstand acute stress than adults'. In this inspiring memoir, Dr. Kurt Newman draws from his long experience as a pediatric surgeon working at one of our nation's top children's hospitals to make the case that children are more than miniature adults. Through the story of his own career and of the brave kids he has treated over the years--and their equally brave and tenacious parents--he reveals the revolution that is taking place in pediatric medicine. When he decided to become a pediatric surgeon, the field was in its infancy, struggling for esteem. Now, nearly forty years later, it is at the forefront of exhilarating new discoveries in everything from cancer research to mental health care. But few parents know how to access the best care for their children. Far too many find themselves frustrated and afraid. Dr. Newman wrote this book to help guide parents--not just of sick kids but of all kids --and to share his knowledge of what children need to thrive. A deeply human story with a spectacular cast of young heroes and heroines, Healing Children will convince you that we still have a lot to learn from our kids"--
"A groundbreaking medical memoir by one of our nation's leading pediatric surgeons - the visionary head of Children's National - for fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gwande. Anyone who has seen a child recover from a deep wound or a broken bone knows that kids are made to heal. Their bodies are more resilient, more adaptive, and far more able to withstand acute stress than adults. And yet children are often treated as an afterthought by the medical establishment and shunted off to doctors who specialize in treating adults. Will an anesthesiologist accustomed to treating older patients know how best to handle a toddler going under for the first time? If your soccer-playing daughter suffers a concussion, should you take her to the nearest ER--or drive further to seek out doctors who specialize in treating kids? In this deeply inspiring memoir Dr. Kurt Newman draws from his long experience as a pediatric surgeon working at one of our nation's top children's hospitals to make the case that children are more than miniature adults. Through the story of his own career and deeply moving accounts of the brave kids he has treated over the years (and their equally brave and determined parents) he reveals the revolution that is taking place in pediatric medicine"--

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at OWWL.

Current holds

1 current hold with 1 total copy.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Honeoye Public Library 618.92 (Text)
New Adult Nonfiction
52120300329961
Available
-
This copy is new and can only be picked up at this library.

Additional Resources