Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Don't close your eyes : a novel

Seddon, Holly, author.,
Image of item
Book

First edition.

"A juicy, powerful read featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart, and the shocking family secrets that bind them--for readers of The Woman in Cabin 10 and I Let You Go When the past knocks, someone must answer. In a bustling suburban neighborhood in Manchester, England, sits an unassuming house. There is no sign of life behind the unwashed windows, but Robin Marshall is inside. Driven by fears and obsessions, racked by anxiety, Robin is frantically pushing her body through punishing workouts, eating little, haunted by what happened to her family when she was a girl. Robin's only connection to the outside world is through her rear windows and the lives she spies upon in the apartment house across the way. Then a stranger starts pounding on her door. Sarah Marshall is Robin's twin, estranged from her sister after their parents' betrayal and a violation at the hands of a man she should have been able to trust. Sarah has recently lost custody of the child she loves more than anything and has set off on her own, hoping that somewhere in England she can find Robin, the braver twin, the rock star, the survivor, the savior. These two young women, polar opposites, cannot go on unless they reckon with the past. While Sarah, slowly unraveling, searches for her sister's hiding place, Robin sees another life hanging in the balance in the lighted windows across the street. It is a life only Robin can save--as long as she never looks away. In a novel that is stunning in its twists, shocks, and gripping psychological suspense, two sisters find themselves on the razor's edge of sanity. Untold secrets, a ghastly lie, and suffocating guilt hold them back. Only one astounding act can set them free. And one last revelation will leave readers gasping in surprise. Advance praise for Don't Close Your Eyes "[A] smartly plotted psychological thriller. [Holly] Seddon skillfully pieces together the now-estranged twins' lives. Plenty of last-minute bombshells await."--Publishers Weekly Praise for Holly Seddon's Try Not to Breathe "A razor-sharp, fast-paced plot and wonderfully complex characters. Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense."--Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of I Know a Secret "Delivers the high-quality thrills and intriguing characters that readers demand in the best of psychological thrillers."--Associated Press "A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Where They Found Her "Try not to breathe, try not to make plans, try not to commit to anything in fact till you have finished [Holly Seddon's] debut novel, because we must warn you now--you'll be fully hooked from page one."--Glamour (U.K.) "Fascinating. Seddon's storytelling skills are strong and the book is engrossing."--Kirkus Reviews "A brilliant, beautifully written thriller."--Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors "This gripping thriller about family and redemption will keep readers engaged to the very end."--Publishers Weekly"--
"Robin and Sarah haven't spoken in years. Robin can't leave her house. A complete shut-in, she spends her days spying on her neighbors, subtly meddling in their lives. But she can't keep her demons out forever. Someone from her past has returned, and is desperate to get inside. Sarah can't go home. Her husband has kicked her out, forcibly denying her access to their toddler. Sarah will do anything to get her daughter back, but she's unraveling under the mounting pressure of concealing the dark secrets of her past. And her lies are catching up to her. The novel takes readers back in time to witness the complex family dynamics that formed Robin and Sarah into the emotionally damaged, estranged young women they've become. As the gripping and intricate layers of their shared past are slowly peeled away, the shocks and twists will keep readers breathless long after the final page"--

Available copies

  • 0 of 2 copies available at OWWL.

Current holds

1 current hold with 2 total copies.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Stevens Memorial Community Library - Attica SEDD (Text)
Magazines
52149100553892
Checked out
09/29/2017
Williamson Public Library FIC SED (Text)
Adult New Materials
52152300697212
Checked out
10/09/2017

Additional Resources