Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The diplomat's daughter : a novel

Tanabe, Karin, author.,
Image of item
Book

First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.

"For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" (USA TODAY) storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at OWWL.

Current holds

1 current hold with 1 total copy.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Lyons Public Library PB F Tan (Text)
Adult Fiction
52141300480448
Available
-

Additional Resources