Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The boat runner : a novel

Image of item
Book
In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem. On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory. When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life-and his life's mission-forever. Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails.

Available copies

  • 3 of 3 copies available at OWWL.

Current holds

0 current holds with 3 total copies.

View other formats and editions

Book 1 Large Print Book 1 English 2 All formats and editions 2
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Livonia Public Library FIC MUR (Text)
Adult Fiction
52140300517936
Available
-
Ontario Public Library FIC MUR (Text)
Adult Fiction
52126300765658
Available
-
Wood Library Association - Canandaigua FIC MUR (Text)
Adult Fiction
31846002761665
Available
-
LDR 02673cam a2200337Mi 4500
001564458
003OWWL
00520170913114251.1
008170823s2017 nyu 000 1 eng
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)on1001724896
040 . ‡aAU@ ‡beng ‡cAU@ ‡erda ‡dOSD
020 . ‡a9780062658012 (paperback)
020 . ‡a0062658018 (paperback)
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)1001724896
08204. ‡a813.6 ‡223
049 . ‡aCRCA
1001 . ‡aMurphy, Devin, ‡eauthor.
24514. ‡aThe boat runner : ‡ba novel / ‡cDevin Murphy.
264 1. ‡aNew York ‡bHarperPerennial, ‡c[2017].
264 4. ‡c©2017
300 . ‡a370, 13 pages ; ‡c20 cm.
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
520 . ‡aIn the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem. On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory. When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life-and his life's mission-forever. Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails.
61020. ‡aHitler-Jugend ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aBrothers ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aTeenage boys ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aWorld War, 1939-1945 ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aWorld War, 1939-1945 ‡xParticipation, Dutch ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aWorld War, 1939-1945 ‡xJews ‡xRescue ‡vFiction.
655 7. ‡aHistorical fiction. ‡2lcgft
905 . ‡ukriedener
901 . ‡aon1001724896 ‡bOCoLC ‡c564458 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc

Additional Resources