Catalog

Up to 7 holds can now be placed on titles system-wide. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search



The trick : a novel

Image of item
Book

First Atria books hardcover edition.

"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"--

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at OWWL.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Livonia Public Library FIC BER (Text)
Adult Fiction
52140300517886
Available
-
Wood Library Association - Canandaigua FIC BER (Text)
Adult Fiction
31846002764123
Available
-
LDR 03017cam a22004338i 4500
001566634
003OWWL
00520171018100037.1
008161116s2017 nyu 000 1 eng
010 . ‡a 2016050065
019 . ‡a981073778
020 . ‡a9781501155826 ‡q(hardback)
020 . ‡a1501155822 ‡q(hardback)
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)ocn962009676
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)962009676 ‡z(OCoLC)981073778
040 . ‡aDLC ‡beng ‡erda ‡cDLC ‡dYDX ‡dBTCTA ‡dBDX ‡dOCLCF ‡dOCLCQ ‡dMAFML ‡dJSE ‡dOSD
0411 . ‡aeng ‡hger
042 . ‡apcc
049 . ‡aOUDS
05000. ‡aPT2702.E4628 ‡bT7513 2017
08200. ‡a833/.92 ‡223
084 . ‡aFIC014000 ‡aFIC019000 ‡aFIC000000 ‡2bisacsh
1001 . ‡aBergmann, Emanuel, ‡d1972- ‡eauthor.
24514. ‡aThe trick : ‡ba novel / ‡cEmanuel Bergmann.
250 . ‡aFirst Atria books hardcover edition.
264 1. ‡aNew York : ‡bAtria Books, ‡c2017.
300 . ‡a375 pages ; ‡c24 cm
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
520 . ‡a"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"-- ‡cProvided by publisher.
650 0. ‡aMagicians ‡vFiction.
650 0. ‡aBoys ‡vFiction.
650 7. ‡aFICTION ‡xHistorical. ‡2bisacsh
650 7. ‡aFICTION ‡xLiterary. ‡2bisacsh
650 7. ‡aFICTION ‡xGeneral. ‡2bisacsh
650 7. ‡aBoys. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst00837358
650 7. ‡aMagicians. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01005551
655 7. ‡aFiction. ‡2fast ‡0(OCoLC)fst01423787
77608. ‡iOnline version: ‡aBergmann, Emanuel, 1972- ‡tTrick. ‡bFirst Atria Books hardcover edition. ‡dNew York : Atria Books, 2017 ‡z9781501155840 ‡w(DLC) 2016058088
905 . ‡ukriedener
901 . ‡aocn962009676 ‡bOCoLC ‡c566634 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc

Additional Resources