Catalog

Up to 10 holds can now be placed on titles system-wide. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search


1501166026

The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs

Image of item
Book

First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition

In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.

Available copies

  • 4 of 4 copies available at OWWL.

Current holds

0 current holds with 4 total copies.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Bloomfield Public Library 342.73 Asner (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52133300147945
Available
-
Livonia Public Library 342.73 ASN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52140300520559
Available
-
Macedon Public Library 342.73 ASN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52121300593143
Available
-
Victor Farmington Library 342.73 ASN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52128300813074
Available
-

Record details

  • ISBN: 1501166026
  • ISBN: 9781501166020
  • Physical Description: viii, 336 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition
  • Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2017.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 291-334).
Formatted Contents Note:
Introduction: Why I wrote this book -- The founders and framers: who were those guys? -- Snapshots of life in Philadelphia, 1787 -- Heckling the right wing: their top ten talking points and my top ten comebacks -- God and the Constitution, Part I: Epistle to the Christian Right -- God and the Constitution, Part II: Epistle to the Mormons -- The writing of the Constitution: notes from the Constitutional Convention as recorded by Billey, slave to James Madison, May 6 to September 17, 1787 -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part I: meeting the framers -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part II: following the money -- The chapter of leftovers, Part I -- Open letter to Senator Ted Cruz written in the style of 1787 -- The Constitution according to Ben Carson, MD -- Rewriting the Constitution: Mark Levin and the Asner Amendments -- Immigration and Ann Coulter: a review that was never published in the New York Times Book Review -- The shocking truth about the Bill of Rights -- The Bill of Rights in the real world -- The chapter of leftovers, Part II -- The Emperor has no robes: Justice Antonin Scalia and Citizens United -- Scarier that Scalia: Introducing Justice Clarence Thomas -- What in Hell is a strict constructionist? -- Anonymous letter to certain members of the Supreme Court -- The chapter of leftovers, Part III -- The Second Amendment: Guns and the NRA -- In conclusion -- Appendix: The Constitution of the United States: a transcription.
Summary, etc.:
In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.
Subject: United States. Constitution.
United States > Politics and government > 2017-
United States > Politics and government > 21st century.


Additional Resources