Catalog

Up to 10 holds can now be placed on titles system-wide. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search



The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs

Image of item
Book

First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition

In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.

Available copies

  • 4 of 4 copies available at OWWL.

Current holds

0 current holds with 4 total copies.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Bloomfield Public Library 342.73 Asner (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52133300147945
Available
-
Livonia Public Library 342.73 ASN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52140300520559
Available
-
Macedon Public Library 342.73 ASN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52121300593143
Available
-
Victor Farmington Library 342.73 ASN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52128300813074
Available
-
LDR 03032cam a2200361Mi 4500
001567060
003OWWL
00520171026100803.1
008170314t20172017nyua b 000 0 eng d
019 . ‡a975113209 ‡a975365379 ‡a975385207
020 . ‡a1501166026
020 . ‡a9781501166020
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)ocn975847665
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)975847665 ‡z(OCoLC)975113209 ‡z(OCoLC)975365379 ‡z(OCoLC)975385207
040 . ‡aYDX ‡beng ‡erda ‡cYDX ‡dWYZ ‡dLIV ‡dFM0 ‡dOSD
049 . ‡aOUDB
050 4. ‡aJA
08204. ‡a342.7302 ‡223
1001 . ‡aAsner, Edward, ‡eauthor.
24514. ‡aThe grouchy historian : ‡ban old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs / ‡cEd Asner and Ed. Weinberger.
250 . ‡aFirst Simon & Schuster hardcover edition
264 1. ‡aNew York : ‡bSimon & Schuster, ‡c2017.
264 4. ‡c©2017
300 . ‡aviii, 336 pages : ‡billustrations ; ‡c24 cm
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
504 . ‡aIncludes bibliographical references (pages 291-334).
5050 . ‡aIntroduction: Why I wrote this book -- The founders and framers: who were those guys? -- Snapshots of life in Philadelphia, 1787 -- Heckling the right wing: their top ten talking points and my top ten comebacks -- God and the Constitution, Part I: Epistle to the Christian Right -- God and the Constitution, Part II: Epistle to the Mormons -- The writing of the Constitution: notes from the Constitutional Convention as recorded by Billey, slave to James Madison, May 6 to September 17, 1787 -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part I: meeting the framers -- Charles Beard's economic interpretation of the Constitution, Part II: following the money -- The chapter of leftovers, Part I -- Open letter to Senator Ted Cruz written in the style of 1787 -- The Constitution according to Ben Carson, MD -- Rewriting the Constitution: Mark Levin and the Asner Amendments -- Immigration and Ann Coulter: a review that was never published in the New York Times Book Review -- The shocking truth about the Bill of Rights -- The Bill of Rights in the real world -- The chapter of leftovers, Part II -- The Emperor has no robes: Justice Antonin Scalia and Citizens United -- Scarier that Scalia: Introducing Justice Clarence Thomas -- What in Hell is a strict constructionist? -- Anonymous letter to certain members of the Supreme Court -- The chapter of leftovers, Part III -- The Second Amendment: Guns and the NRA -- In conclusion -- Appendix: The Constitution of the United States: a transcription.
520 . ‡aIn the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.
61010. ‡aUnited States. ‡tConstitution.
651 0. ‡aUnited States ‡xPolitics and government ‡y2017-
651 0. ‡aUnited States ‡xPolitics and government ‡y21st century.
7001 . ‡aWeinberger, Ed, ‡eauthor.
905 . ‡ukriedener
901 . ‡aocn975847665 ‡bOCoLC ‡c567060 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc

Additional Resources