Catalog

Up to 10 holds can now be placed on titles system-wide. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Image of item
Book

First edition.

A collection of confessional, hilarious, heartbreaking notes written anonymously on a public typewriter for fans of PostSecret and Other People's Love Letters. When Michael Gustafson and his wife Hilary opened Literati Bookstore in Ann Arbor, Michigan, they put out a typewriter for anyone to use. They had no idea what to expect. Would people ask metaphysical questions? Write mean things? Pour their souls onto the page? Yes, no, and did they ever. Every day, people of all ages sit down at the public typewriter. Children perch atop grandparents' knees, both sets of hands hovering above the metal keys: I LOVE YOU. Others walk in alone on Friday nights and confess their hopes: I will find someone someday. And some leave funny asides for the next person who sits down: I dislike people, misanthropes, irony, and ellipses ... and lists too. In NOTES FROM A PUBLIC TYPEWRITER Michael and designer Oliver Uberti have combined their favorite notes with essays and photos to create an ode to community and the written word that will surprise, delight, and inspire.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at OWWL.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Lyons Public Library 302.2 GUS (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52141300499836
Available
-
LDR 02228cam a2200349Ii 4500
001576465
003OWWL
00520180403112354.1
008180319t20182018nyua e 000 0 eng d
035 . ‡a(EG-IN)21390674
040 . ‡aIOU ‡beng ‡erda ‡cIOU ‡dOQX ‡dKCK ‡dBTCTA ‡dYDX ‡dBDX ‡dFLTNC
019 . ‡a993420263
020 . ‡a9781538729113 ‡q(hardcover)
020 . ‡a1538729113 ‡q(hardcover)
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)1028995318 ‡z(OCoLC)993420263
043 . ‡an-us-mi
08204. ‡a652.3/09774 ‡223
049 . ‡aROCH
24500. ‡aNotes from a public typewriter / ‡cedited by Michael Gustafson and Oliver Uberti.
250 . ‡aFirst edition.
264 1. ‡aNew York, NY : ‡bGrand Central Publishing, ‡c2018.
264 4. ‡c©2018
300 . ‡a159 pages : ‡billustrations (chiefly color) ; ‡c19 cm.
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
336 . ‡astill image ‡bsti ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
520 . ‡aA collection of confessional, hilarious, heartbreaking notes written anonymously on a public typewriter for fans of PostSecret and Other People's Love Letters. When Michael Gustafson and his wife Hilary opened Literati Bookstore in Ann Arbor, Michigan, they put out a typewriter for anyone to use. They had no idea what to expect. Would people ask metaphysical questions? Write mean things? Pour their souls onto the page? Yes, no, and did they ever. Every day, people of all ages sit down at the public typewriter. Children perch atop grandparents' knees, both sets of hands hovering above the metal keys: I LOVE YOU. Others walk in alone on Friday nights and confess their hopes: I will find someone someday. And some leave funny asides for the next person who sits down: I dislike people, misanthropes, irony, and ellipses ... and lists too. In NOTES FROM A PUBLIC TYPEWRITER Michael and designer Oliver Uberti have combined their favorite notes with essays and photos to create an ode to community and the written word that will surprise, delight, and inspire.
650 0. ‡aBookstores ‡zMichigan ‡zAnn Arbor.
61020. ‡aLiterati Bookstore.
650 0. ‡aTypewriting ‡zMichigan ‡zAnn Arbor.
7001 . ‡aGustafson, Michael, ‡c(Bookstore proprietor) ‡eeditor.
7001 . ‡aUberti, Oliver, ‡eeditor.
905 . ‡ukriedener
901 . ‡a21390674 ‡bEG-IN ‡c576465 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc

Additional Resources