Catalog

Up to 7 holds can now be placed on titles system-wide. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search



No ocean too wide : a novel

Image of item
Book

First edition.

"In this historical adventure for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, the three youngest McAllister children are taken to Canada as British Home Children without their mother's knowledge or permission. The oldest McAllister siblingfollows them across the Atlantic to search for them and bring them home. When Laura McAllister, a young lady's maid, learns her three siblings have been taken from their mother and emigrated to Canada without her mother's knowledge, Laura determines to search for them and reunite the family. But lack of funds and resistance from authorities push her to use a false name and take a position with a child emigration society to gain passage to Canada. Andrew Frasier, a wealthy young lawyer, is surprised to see his mother's former lady's maid on board ship escorting a group of child immigrants, especially when she uses a different name. Laura eventually convinces Andrew to help her search for her siblings and uncover the truth about the treatment of British Home Children. Romantic feelings grow between this unlikely couple, and though they have different backgrounds, they share a growing faith and desire to seek justice and relief for the children who are mistreated"--

Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at OWWL.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

View other formats and editions

Book 1 Large Print Book 1 English 2 All formats and editions 2
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Avon Free Library FIC TUR (Text)
Adult Fiction
52113300504337
Available
-
Newark Public Library FIC TUR (Text)
Adult Fiction
52125300862788
Available
-

Additional Resources