Catalog

Up to 7 holds can now be placed on titles system-wide. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search



The book of v. A novel.

Image of item
E-audio

Unabridged.

Available as a download from OWWL2go with a valid OWWL borrower card.
**An Audiofile Earphones Award-winning production** For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies , a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day. Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she's grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016. Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others. Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle's tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all. In Anna Solomon's The Book of V. , these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women's lives have and have not changed over thousands of years. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

Electronic resources

View other formats and editions

Book 1 E-book 1 E-audio 1 Large Print Book 1 English 4 All formats and editions 4

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250754998 (sound recording)
  • Physical Description: 1 online resource (9 audio files) : digital
  • Edition: Unabridged.
  • Publisher: New York : Macmillan Audio, 2020.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Unabridged.
Restrictions on Access Note:
Available as a download from OWWL2go with a valid OWWL borrower card.
Participant or Performer Note:
Narrator: Dara Rosenberg.
Summary, etc.:
**An Audiofile Earphones Award-winning production** For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies , a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day. Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she's grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016. Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others. Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle's tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all. In Anna Solomon's The Book of V. , these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women's lives have and have not changed over thousands of years. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company
System Details Note:
Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 257156 KB).
Subject: Fiction.
Literature.
Genre: Electronic books.


Additional Resources