Catalog

Up to 7 holds can now be placed on titles system-wide. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search



The book of v. A novel.

Image of item
E-audio

Unabridged.

Available as a download from OWWL2go with a valid OWWL borrower card.
**An Audiofile Earphones Award-winning production** For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies , a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day. Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she's grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016. Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others. Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle's tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all. In Anna Solomon's The Book of V. , these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women's lives have and have not changed over thousands of years. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

Electronic resources

View other formats and editions

Book 1 E-book 1 E-audio 1 Large Print Book 1 English 4 All formats and editions 4
LDR 03273nim a2200421Ka 4500
001620723
003OWWL
006m h
007cr una---
007sz usn nn ed
008200417s2020 nyu s 000 1 eng d
020 . ‡a9781250754998 (sound recording)
037 . ‡a6A1BFCD8-05F7-4123-A6C4-2A344ABC3628 ‡bOverDrive, Inc. ‡nhttp://www.overdrive.com
040 . ‡aTEFOD ‡cTEFOD
084 . ‡aFIC044000 ‡aFIC046000 ‡2bisacsh
1001 . ‡aSolomon, Anna.
24514. ‡aThe book of v. ‡h[electronic resource] : ‡bA novel. ‡cAnna Solomon.
250 . ‡aUnabridged.
260 . ‡aNew York : ‡bMacmillan Audio, ‡c2020.
300 . ‡a1 online resource (9 audio files) : ‡bdigital
306 . ‡a09:08:32
336 . ‡aspoken word ‡bspw ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aaudio ‡bs ‡2rdamedia
337 . ‡acomputer ‡bc ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡aonline resource ‡bcr ‡2rdacarrier
347 . ‡aaudio file ‡2rda
500 . ‡aUnabridged.
506 . ‡aAvailable as a download from OWWL2go with a valid OWWL borrower card.
5110 . ‡aNarrator: Dara Rosenberg.
520 . ‡a**An Audiofile Earphones Award-winning production** For fans of The Hours and Fates and Furies , a bold, kaleidoscopic novel intertwining the lives of three women across three centuries as their stories of sex, power, and desire finally converge in the present day. Lily is a mother and a daughter. And a second wife. And a writer, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment she's grappling with her sexual and intellectual desires, while also trying to manage her roles as a mother and a wife in 2016. Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her refusal to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others. Esther is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle's tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes that she will save them all. In Anna Solomon's The Book of V. , these three characters' riveting stories overlap and ultimately collide, illuminating how women's lives have and have not changed over thousands of years. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company
538 . ‡aRequires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 257156 KB).
65017. ‡aFiction. ‡2OverDrive
650 7. ‡aLiterature. ‡2OverDrive
655 7. ‡aElectronic books. ‡2local
7001 . ‡aRosenberg, Dara.
85640. ‡uhttp://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=272&titleID=5086617 ‡zClick to access digital title.
8564 . ‡3Excerpt ‡uhttps://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=6a1bfcd8-05f7-4123-a6c4-2a344abc3628&.epub-sample.overdrive.com ‡zSample
8564 . ‡3Image ‡uhttps://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1493-1/%7B6A1BFCD8-05F7-4123-A6C4-2A344ABC3628%7DImg100.jpg ‡zLarge cover image
8564 . ‡3Thumbnail ‡uhttps://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1493-1/%7B6A1BFCD8-05F7-4123-A6C4-2A344ABC3628%7DImg200.jpg ‡zThumbnail cover image
905 . ‡ukriedener
901 . ‡aODN0005086617 ‡bSystem Local ‡c620723 ‡tbiblio ‡sOwwl2Go

Additional Resources