Catalog

Up to 10 holds can now be placed on titles system-wide. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search


9781984821188

Carry : a memoir of survival on stolen land

Image of item
Book
"A powerful, poetic memoir about what it means to exist as an indigenous woman in America, told in snapshots of the author's encounters with gun violence--for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Terese Marie Mailhot. Toni Jensen grew up in the Midwest around guns: As a girl, she learned how to shoot birds with her father, a card-carrying member of the NRA. As an adult, she's had guns waved in her face in the fracklands around Standing Rock, and felt their silent threat on the concealed-carry campus where she teaches. And she has always known she is not alone. As a Maetis woman, she is no stranger to the violence enacted on the bodies of indigenous women, on indigenous land, and the ways it is hidden, ignored, forgotten. In Carry, Jensen maps her personal experience onto the historical, exploring how history is lived in the body and redefining the language we use to speak about violence in America. In the title chapter, Jensen recalls the discrimination she faced in college as a Native American student from her roommate to her faculty adviser. "The Worry Line" explores the gun and gang violence in her neighborhood the year her daughter was born. "At the Workshop" focuses on her graduate school years, during which a classmate repeatedly wrote stories in which he killed thinly veiled versions of her. In "Women in the Fracklands," Jensen takes the reader inside Standing Rock during the Dakota Access pipeline protests, as well as the peril faced by women, in regions overcome by the fracking boom. In prose at once forensic and deeply emotional, Toni Jensen shows herself to be a brave new voice and a fearless witness to her own difficult history--as well as to the violent cultural landscape in which she finds her coordinates as a Native American woman. With each chapter,Carry reminds us that surviving in one's country is not the same as surviving one's country."--

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at OWWL.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Naples Library 978.4004 JEN (Text)
Adult Nonfiction
52124300395493
Available
-
LDR 03305cam a22003618i 4500
001626804
003OWWL
00520200916122623.1
008200408s2020 nyu e 000 0 eng
010 . ‡a2020015793
020 . ‡a9781984821188 ‡q(hardcover)
020 . ‡a1984821180 ‡q(hardcover)
035 . ‡a(ME)4006196
035 . ‡a(OCoLC)1130765815
040 . ‡beng ‡erda
049 . ‡aMZ7A
08200. ‡a978.400497
1001 . ‡aJensen, Toni, ‡eauthor.
24510. ‡aCarry : ‡ba memoir of survival on stolen land / ‡cToni Jensen.
24630. ‡aMemoir of survival on stolen land
264 1. ‡aNew York : ‡bBallantine Group, ‡c[2020]
300 . ‡a294 pages ; ‡c22 cm.
336 . ‡atext ‡btxt ‡2rdacontent
337 . ‡aunmediated ‡bn ‡2rdamedia
338 . ‡avolume ‡bnc ‡2rdacarrier
5050 . ‡aWomen in the Fracklands -- Songs Without Words -- The Invented Histories of Domestic Birds -- Give and Go -- Carry -- Route -- Dog Days -- In the Neighborhood -- The Worry Line -- Fracture and Song -- How to Make a Trafficked Girl -- City Beautiful -- Chicken -- Pass -- Contagion -- Ghost Logic.
520 . ‡a"A powerful, poetic memoir about what it means to exist as an indigenous woman in America, told in snapshots of the author's encounters with gun violence--for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Terese Marie Mailhot. Toni Jensen grew up in the Midwest around guns: As a girl, she learned how to shoot birds with her father, a card-carrying member of the NRA. As an adult, she's had guns waved in her face in the fracklands around Standing Rock, and felt their silent threat on the concealed-carry campus where she teaches. And she has always known she is not alone. As a Maetis woman, she is no stranger to the violence enacted on the bodies of indigenous women, on indigenous land, and the ways it is hidden, ignored, forgotten. In Carry, Jensen maps her personal experience onto the historical, exploring how history is lived in the body and redefining the language we use to speak about violence in America. In the title chapter, Jensen recalls the discrimination she faced in college as a Native American student from her roommate to her faculty adviser. "The Worry Line" explores the gun and gang violence in her neighborhood the year her daughter was born. "At the Workshop" focuses on her graduate school years, during which a classmate repeatedly wrote stories in which he killed thinly veiled versions of her. In "Women in the Fracklands," Jensen takes the reader inside Standing Rock during the Dakota Access pipeline protests, as well as the peril faced by women, in regions overcome by the fracking boom. In prose at once forensic and deeply emotional, Toni Jensen shows herself to be a brave new voice and a fearless witness to her own difficult history--as well as to the violent cultural landscape in which she finds her coordinates as a Native American woman. With each chapter,Carry reminds us that surviving in one's country is not the same as surviving one's country."-- ‡cProvided by publisher.
60010. ‡aJensen, Toni.
650 0. ‡aMétis women ‡zNorth Dakota ‡vBiography.
650 0. ‡aIndian women activists ‡zNorth Dakota ‡vBiography.
650 0. ‡aIndian women ‡xCrimes against ‡zNorth Dakota.
650 0. ‡aIndians of North America ‡vBiography.
655 7. ‡aBiographies. ‡2lcgft
655 7. ‡aAutobiographies. ‡lcgft
905 . ‡ukriedener
901 . ‡a4006196 ‡bME ‡c626804 ‡tbiblio ‡soclc

Additional Resources