Catalog

Up to 10 holds can now be placed on titles system-wide. See owwl.org for further details.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Fake accounts

Image of item
Book
"For fans of Elif Batuman's The Idiot and Ottessa Moshfegh's My Year of Rest and Relaxation, Fake Accounts is a provocative examination of social media, sex, feminism, and fiction, the sense of connection they've all promised us, and the lies they make us tell. On the eve of Donald Trump's inauguration, a young woman snoops through her boyfriend's phone and makes a startling discovery : he's an anonymous internet conspiracy theorist, and a popular one at that. Already fluent in internet fakery, irony, and outrage, she's not exactly shocked by the revelation. But this is only the first in a series of bizarre twists that expose a world whose truths are shaped by online lies. Suddenly left with no reason to stay in New York-or be anywhere in particular-our unnamed narrator flees to Berlin, embarking on her own cycles of manipulation in the deceptive spaces of her daily life, from dating apps to expat meetups, open-plan offices to bureaucratic waiting rooms. Narrated with seductive confidence and subversive wit, Fake Accounts challenges the way current conversations about the self and community, delusions and gaslighting, and fiction and reality play out in the internet age"--

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at OWWL.

Current holds

1 current hold with 1 total copy.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Livonia Public Library FIC OYL (Text)
Adult New
52140300602027
Checked out
03/02/2021
This copy is new and can only be picked up at this library.

Additional Resources