Record Details

Catalog Search


The border trilogy

Image of item
Cormac McCarthy's award-winning and bestselling trio of novels, The Border Trilogy, appearing here in one volume for the first time, constitutes a genuine American epic. The young men in these novels come of age on southwestern ranches in the 1930s, while across the border Mexico beckons them with its desolate beauty and the cruel promise of a place where a dreams are paid for in blood. In All the Pretty Horses, young John Grady Cole, dispossessed by the sale of his family's Texas ranch, heads across the border in search of the cowboy life, finding a job breaking horses and a dangerously ill-fated romance. In The Crossing, 16-year-old Billy Parham captures a she-wolf that has been marauding his family's ranch and instead of killing it decides to take it on a perilous journey home to the mountains of Mexico. These drifters come together years later in Cities of the Plain, a magnificent tale of friendship and passion. McCarthy's haunting evocation of two young men poised on the edge of a world about to change forever serves as a darkly beautiful elegy for the American frontier.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at OWWL.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Lyons Public Library FICTION McCarthy (Border Trilogy) (Text)
Adult Fiction

Additional Resources